NTOA Award Nominations Print E-mail

Each year, the NTOA is proud to accept nominations and honor worthy law enforcement officers and organizations with several prestigious awards (described below). Awards are presented at the annual Tactical Operations Conference Awards banquet held in September. Recipients are gifted with a plaque and their name and agency is published in The Tactical Edge.

How to submit a nomination:

Nominations must be submitted by July 1, 2014 to the NTOA, PO Box 797, Doylestown, PA 18901. Email nominations will also be accepted with a deadline of July 1, 2014. 
Questions, contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

The awards are for incidents occurring between June 1, 2013 and June 1, 2014. Nominations for each award submitted to the NTOA must comply with the following criteria:

  • Nominees must be active members of NTOA (with the exception of the Spirit of NTOA award)
  • Nominations must include the nominee's name, organization and reasons for nomination.
  • The narrative must include accurate information on jurisdiction, agencies and the dates on which the officer performed the actions making him or her deserving of the award.

Nomination Deadline:
Postmarked or emailed no later than July 1, 2014.
When submitting nomination, please include your contact information.
For more information, contact Laura Gerhart at 800-279-9127, ext. 128.

The John Kolman Award of Excellence

Named for NTOA's founder, Capt. John Kolman (ret.), this award is presented each year to the person who contributes the most to further the goals of the tactical community. A selection committee bases its decision on an evaluation of his or her performance, dedication and leadership. The award recognizes the recipient for:

  • Unselfish dedication to the enhancement of the tactical unit capabilities.
  • Unstinting efforts to increase tactical officer safety through training and mutual exchange of information.
  • Epitomizing the highest standards of professionalism and honor in all aspects of law enforcement.

NTOA Awards of Valor

This award is presented each year to the person or persons who distinguish themselves through valorous actions during a tactical operation. A selection committee reviews a situation in which the nominated individual clearly acted without regard for his or her own life to save a fellow officer or an innocent victim.

NTOA Negotiations Award

NTOA is honored to introduce the Negotiations Award to our roster of prestigious honors. This award is presented to the person(s) who significantly contributed to the crisis negotiations field by exemplifying in a real-life situation the skills and techniques needed to defuse a critical incident; by instructing nationally recognized negotiation concepts; or by advancing the negotiations/tactical team concept.


This award is presented each year to the person whose contributions result in the significant advancement of Tactical Emergency Medical Support (TEMS). These contributions include but are not limited to research and academic endeavors, direct medical care and other clinical activities, and system advancement.

NTOA Unit Citation for Valor

This award is presented each year to a SWAT/Tactical Unit whose members distinguished themselves through valorous actions during a tactical operation. A selection committee reviews a situation in which members of the nominated unit clearly act without regard for the safety of their own lives in order to neutralize a suspect, thus protecting fellow officers and/or innocent victims and bystanders.

Spirit of NTOA Award

This award honors an individual, corporation or organization whose work epitomizes the ultimate vision of the NTOA - to save lives. Consideration is given to those who have a long-term commitment to promote officer safety, collegiality, sound tactics and professionalism.

© 2010 National Tactical Officers Association
Site by C2